The AAMD Outstanding Achievement Award

2023 AAMD Outstanding Achievement Award Recipient:
Christopher J. Moore, BS, CMD, R.T.(R)(T)

The American Association of Medical Dosimetrists (AAMD) is extremely proud to present the 2023 Outstanding Achievement Award to Christopher J. Moore. Chris began his career in the early 1980s when he received his certificates in Radiologic Technology (1981) and Radiation Therapy (1982). Chris then started working as a Medical Dosimetrist with “on the job” training and ultimately obtained his MDCB certification in 1989. He graduated Summa Cum Laude from Widener University with a Bachelor of Science in Allied Health in 2002. Currently, he is the Chief of Medical Dosimetry at MD Anderson Cancer Center at Cooper in Camden, NJ.

Chris has been a member of the AAMD since November 1983. He has made significant contributions to the profession, including serving the 3-year AAMD Presidential cycle from 2010 to 2012 and as the Region IV Director from 2008 to 2010. He also served as Chair of the AAMD Awards Committee for nine years and Chair of the Historian Committee for seven years. While chairing the AAMD Project 40 in 2014 and 2015, Chris wrote and edited a special issue of the AAMD journal, Medical Dosimetry, to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the AAMD. In addition, he served as a member of the AAMD Scope of Practice and Practice Standards Committee from 2012 to 2013. Chris also served as a member on the AAMD Education and Research Foundation Board of Trustees in 2012.

Other awards and honors that Chris has achieved include: the 2020 Beekley Medical "Empower Award," becoming the first and only medical dosimetrist to receive this award; 2018 JRCERT Outstanding Clinical Instructor Award; 2019 Radiosurgery Society/ProKnow Plan Challenge 3rd place for Pinnacle treatment planning system; 3rd place overall amongst VMAT plans for efficiency at the 2018 World Championships of Treatment Planning and high performer with Pinnacle and a 3rd place ranking; high performer in the 2017 QADS TG244 HN ProKnow Plan Challenge, ranking in the top 20%; and high performer in the 2015 Sun Nuclear Plan Challenge.

Finally, Chris has presented at both AAMD Annual and Regional meetings, as well as contributed to the 2012 Safety is No Accident ASTRO publication.

Chris is a firm believer in the value of education and has mentored students from both the Thomas Jefferson University Medical Dosimetry Program as well as the MD Anderson Medical Dosimetry Program. According to Chris: “It is our great responsibility to ensure that young dosimetrists are prepared to face the challenges they will encounter and properly utilize the tools and techniques available to them. Their patients deserve nothing less!”

Chris’s 40-year career truly represents what it means to give back to your profession. The AAMD would like to thank him for his contributions to the medical dosimetry profession and congratulate him on receiving the 2023 AAMD Outstanding Achievement Award!

Mahsa DehghanpourChristopher J. Moore, BS, CMD, R.T.(R)(T)


Know someone who has made an impact on the Medical Dosimetry profession? Nominate him/her for the new AAMD Outstanding Achievement Award!

Requirements for nomination: Significant contributions to the field of Medical Dosimetry as demonstrated by any/all of the following:

  • AAMD committee service
  • AAMD Board of Directors’ service
  • Publication of articles pertaining to Medical Dosimetry
  • Presentations at Local/Regional/National meetings
  • Research activities within the profession
  • Legislative efforts on behalf of the profession
  • Tenure as an educator in a recognized Medical Dosimetry program
  • Clinical instructor service
  • Significant professional accomplishments in the radiation oncology field
  • Outstanding years of clinical service – 10 years or more
  • Service to the radiation oncology community

Nominations are due by December 1, 2023.

Nomination Form

Email the completed nomination form to: Be sure to include “Outstanding Achievement Award” in the subject line. If you have questions about the award, contact Award Committee Chair Ryan Moroose at

About the Award

The AAMD Outstanding Achievement Award is the highest award an individual can receive from the AAMD. The individual’s contributions may be demonstrated by any or all of the following: AAMD Board of Directors service, AAMD committee service, publications in the radiation oncology field, professional presentations, education of medical dosimetry professionals, legislative efforts, and service to the radiation oncology community. The Outstanding Achievement Award replaces the AAMD Award of Excellence, which was established in 2007. Prior to that, the award was named the Varian Award of Excellence. 


Historical List of Award Winners

AAMD Outstanding Achievement Award

AAMD Award of Excellence

Keith Moore
Matt Tobler
Robert Adams
Lon Marsh
Rudi J. Bertrand
Randall Paul Merrill
Nishele Lenards
Anne Marie Vann
Mark Russell

Varian Award of Excellence

Ray Garcia
David Robinson
Mona Weller
Carol Ann Schneider
Carolyn Dicker
Robin Famiglietti
Jan Jensen
Mary Hare