AAMD Award of Excellence

2016 AAMD Award of Excellence Recipient:
Mark Russell, MS, MHA, RT(R)(T)

As we announce Mark Russell as this year’s AAMD Award of Excellence recipient, it is fitting that we reflect on his long career in radiation oncology. He began his career in 1971 at Wright Patterson Air Force Base Medical Center in diagnostic radiology and nuclear medicine. As a new radiation oncology facility was opened, Mark worked with a radiation oncologist and medical physicist who helped shape his future as they worked through some of the earliest 3D dose calculations. After becoming a registered radiation therapist and obtaining his Master of Science in Radiologic Physics, Mark became the technical and administrative director of the new radiation oncology department at St. Louis University and Hospitals. He continued his career in management prior to launching his own treatment planning company, RAHD Oncology Products. He later returned to the clinical arena as manager of dosimetry services at Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Florida.

Mark first became involved in the AAMD in 1983. Mark acknowledges that his involvement within the operation of the AAMD provided the best opportunity for his growth and development. Mark served on the AAMD Leadership Conference Task Group while serving as chief operating officer of RAHD. Today, though largely retired, Mark continues to serve the AAMD through his service as Trustee and Treasurer of the AAMD Education and Research Foundation.

When Mark was asked for his advice for young dosimetrists, he gave five suggestions:

  1. Become an active member of the AAMD.
  2. Learn, practice and develop presentation skills.
  3. Do not accept duties you cannot complete and complete every duty you are assigned.
  4. Always treat EVERYBODY with respect. Be kind to your colleagues.
  5. Find a mentor and be a mentor.

Quick to deflect praise, Mark acknowledges the positive influences of mentors, colleagues, and even patients played throughout his career. His cumulative experiences have led him to this Award of Excellence. We salute this veteran of both the medical dosimetry industry and the US Air Force with the 2016 AAMD Award of Excellence.


Selection Process

The AAMD Award of Excellence and its predecessor, the "Varian/AAMD Award of Excellence," were established to recognize individuals and their significant accomplishments in the field of Medical Dosimetry. One winner may be selected each year from submitted nominations. If a winner is selected, the award will be presented to that individual at the AAMD Annual Meeting. The award is for $2500 and a crystal trophy.

Nominations for this award are to be submitted no later than November 1st for the coming Annual Meeting. Nominations can be made by any member of the AAMD. Nominations are sent to the Selection Committee Chairperson via a written nomination received by email or letter. Nominated individuals will be asked to submit a CV by December 1st of that year. The addresses to submit a nomination are posted on the AAMD website and published in the AAMD Journal. A nominee will remain a candidate for the award for the next 2 years. The nominations will then be forwarded to the Selection Committee for review. The Selection Committee members will communicate their individual selections to the Awards Chairperson for counting by January 15th to select a winner. The Award Chairperson will then notify the award winner which will be followed by a letter from the AAMD President. Nominated individuals who are not selected to receive the award will be notified by the Committee Chairperson by January 30th.

Selection Committee:
The Selection Committee is comprised of all former award winners as well as a MDCB liaison to the AAMD, an AAPM liaison to the AAMD, and a JRCERT representative to the AAMD. Previous award recipients can nominate a candidate but will be disqualified from the Selection Committee that year.

Criteria for Recognition:
AAMD member in good standing for at least the last 10 years. The candidate must be living at the cutoff date for curriculum vitae submission (December 1st) for a nomination to proceed for an award presentation at the next Annual Meeting.

Significant contribution to the field of Medical Dosimetry as demonstrated by any/all of the following:

  • AAMD Committee Service
  • AAMD Board of Director position
  • Publication of articles pertaining to the field
  • Legislative efforts on behalf of the profession
  • Lectures at local/regional/national meetings
  • Research activities within the profession
  • Outstanding years of clinical service — 10 years or more
  • An educator in a recognized Dosimetry Program
  • Significant professional accomplishments in the Radiation Oncology field

Post Selection Process:
Once the recipient is selected, the Award Chairperson will write an announcement for the AAMD Journal. The Award Committee Chairperson and the award recipient will verify this announcement for accuracy. The announcement is due to the publisher by April 10th for publication in the summer issue of the AAMD Journal. In addition, notification will be sent to the Awards Committee (for crystal order and engraving), to the Annual Meeting Chairpersons, and the AAMD President/Treasurer to disperse the award monies.

Award Presentation:
The AAMD Award of Excellence will be presented during the membership luncheon at the AAMD Annual Meeting. The recipient will provide the Award Chairperson/AAMD President with biographical information that will be used during the award presentation. If the recipient is unable to attend, their designated representative will accept the award.

To submit AAMD Award of Excellence nominations or if you have questions or comments, please contact:
Stacey Wilson at



Varian has long been, and continues to be, a supporter of the AAMD. In 2007 Varian informed the AAMD of a change in their corporate policy. They were no longer making individual monetary awards which did not have a direct educational association. This change in underwriting the honorarium compelled the AAMD Board to change the name of the award to the AAMD Award of Excellence as well as fully fund the standing honorarium.

Historical List of Award Winners

Varian Award of Excellence

Ray Garcia
David Robinson
Mona Weller
Carol Ann Schneider
Carolyn Dicker
Robin Famiglietti
Jan Jensen
Mary Hare

AAMD Award of Excellence

Keith Moore
Matt Tobler
Robert Adams
Lon Marsh
Rudi J. Bertrand
Randall Paul Merrill
Nishele Lenards
Anne Marie Vann
Mark Russell